Mobirise

Galanthus bursanus

Galanthus bursanus

Galanthus bursanus is a snowdrop species from northwestern Turkey. The habitat is located in the Marmara Sea region. The Sea of Marmara is an inland sea, which connects the Black Sea with the Aegean Sea.
It was named and described in 2019. The species name refers to the city of Bursa in the province of the same name, near which the distribution area of ​​Galanthus bursanus is located.
The species is particularly interesting from a botanical point of view, as the plants begin to flower at the end of September, even before the foliage begins to grow. The flowers are very fragrant and the plants are generally vigorous. The species is to be regarded as a botanical rarity, since its natural habitat is very small with about 8 square kilometers. Galanthus bursanus grows only on a few wooded hills of the Korucak Daği ridge at about 500 meters above sea level. The plant grows in the undergrowth of Turkey oak trees (Quercus cerris).
Even though the species is thermophilic, it is robust enough to withstand frost. It can therefore be used as an alternative to Galanthus reginae-olgae. It is easily distinguishable from this species by the marks on the inner petals. Another difference is the folded leaves that are reminiscent of Galanthus plicatus.

Galanthus bursanus

create a web page for free

Galanthus bursanus

Galanthus bursanus - English Text

Galanthus bursanus ist eine Schneeglöckchen-Art aus dem Nordwesten der Türkei. Das Habitat liegt in der Region des Marmarameers, einem Binnenmeer des Mittelmeers, welches das Schwarze Meer mit der Ägäis verbindet.
Benannt und beschrieben wurde es im Jahr 2019. Der Artenname bezieht sich auf die Stadt Bursa in der gleichnamigen Provinz, in deren Nähe sich das Verbreitungsgebiet von Galanthus bursanus befindet.
Die Art ist aus botanischer Sicht besonders interessant, da die Blüten bereits ab Ende September erscheinen, noch bevor sich das Laub voll entfaltet. Die Blüten sind sehr wohlriechend und die Pflanzen generell teilungsfreudig. Die Art ist als botanische Rarität anzusehen, da ihr Verbreitungsgebiet mit etwa 8 Quadratkilometern sehr klein ausfällt. Es erstreckt sich lediglich über ein paar bewaldete Hügel des Korucak-Daği-Kamms auf etwa 500 Metern über Meer. Galanthus bursanus wächst dort im Unterholz von Zerreichen-Wäldern (Quercus cerris).
Die Art ist wärmeliebend, aber trotzdem genug robust, um Frost zu ertragen. Sie kann deshalb gut als Alternative zu Galanthus reginae-olgae hinzugezogen werden. Von dieser Art ist sie gut durch die Zeichnung der inneren Blütenblätter zu unterscheiden. Ein weiterer Unterschied sind die gefalteten Laubblätter, die etwas an Galanthus plicatus erinnern.

Galanthus bursanus