free website builder

Galanthus gracilis


Galanthus gracilis is a species with a somewhat uncertain origin. Some say that it only occurs in western Turkey, other sources describe a much wider area of ​​distribution, which also extends over some parts of Greece, Bulgaria, Romania, Moldova and Ukraine. Tom Mitchell of Revolution Snowdrops is a competent source of information in this regard as he has visited various colonies of snowdrops in situ. He assumes that the specimens of these other colonies (outside of Turkey) may be referred to the species Galanthus graecus in the near future because of the significant morphological differences.
Galanthus gracilis differs from the other species mainly by their twisted foliage. Furthermore, they usually have a lighter coloration of the ovary and characteristic spots on the inner petals. In most cases, this consists of a wide band at the top and two small dots at the bottom of the petal. Typically, the lower edges of the inner petals are bent outward.
There are comparatively few varieties of G. gracilis around, but these are very precious in most cases. The most prominent variety is 'Ronald MacKenzie', which is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful snowdrops around. Unfortunately, it is almost never offered.

galanthus gracilis

best css templates

Galanthus gracilis

Galanthus gracilis - English Text

Galanthus gracilis ist eine Spezies mit einer etwas unsicheren Herkunft. Die Einen sagen, es komme nur im Westen der Türkei vor, andere Informationsquellen beschreiben ein wesentlich grösseres Verbreitungsgebiet, das sich auch noch über weitere Teile von Griechenland, Bulgarien, Rumänien, Moldawien und der Ukraine erstreckt. Tom Mitchell von Revolution Snowdrops ist diesbezüglich eine sachkundige Informationsquelle, da er selbst viele Wildstandorte verschiedener Schneeglöckchen-Arten bereist. Er vermutet, dass die Exemplare dieser weiteren Standorte in naher Zukunft möglicherweise der Art Galanthus graecus zugeordnet werden, um den deutlichen morphologischen Unterschieden Rechnung zu tragen.
 Galanthus gracilis unterscheidet sich von den anderen Arten vor allem durch ihr meist gedrehtes Laub. Des Weiteren besitzen sie meist eine hellere Färbung des Fruchtknotens und eine arttypische Markierung der inneren Blütenblätter. In den meisten Fällen besteht diese nämlich aus einem breiten Band am oberen und zwei kleinen Punkten am unteren Rand des Blütenblattes. Typischerweise ist der Saum an der unteren Kante etwas nach aussen gerichtet.
Von Galanthus gracilis gibt es vergleichsweise wenige Sorten, doch diese sind daher meist ausgesprochen kostbar. Prominenteste Sorte ist 'Ronald MacKenzie', das zweifelsohne eines der schönsten Schneeglöckchen überhaupt ist. Leider wird es jedoch so gut wie nie angeboten.

galanthus gracilis