website templates

'Green Mile'

Galanthus nivalis 'Green Mile'

This extraordinarily attractive variety was found on a rainy Sunday afternoon in 2007 by Belgian Robin Callens in his parents' garden in Waregem. The finder was only 15 years old at that time. Photos of this variety were first shown to the public on March 1, 2009. Callens uploaded them to the Internet forum of the "Scottish Rock Garden Club". The response was high as was the demand for this exceptional snowdrop.
Subsequent to the publication of the pictures, some plants were sold. At the time of the market launch, Galanthus 'Green Mile' was sold for 500 Euro per bulb. The money was raised to help send Robin Callens to study in New Zealand at the Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology.
Galanthus 'Green Mile' was found as a single plant, which after two years in culture already reached the impressive number of 9 flowers. A few green-tipped Galanthus nivalis were found in the vicinity of the site. However, Callens did not find any virescent plants at the original site of Galanthus 'Green Mile' even after many years.
Despite this extraordinary find, Callens never became a galanthophile: "Galanthus is a bit overrated, I think" - he prefers to devote himself to plants of the genera Podophyllum, Paris, Trillium, Arisaema, Polygonatum, Disporum and other woodland plants.

Galanthus 'Green Mile'

bootstrap template

'Green Mile'

Galanthus nivalis 'Green Mile' - English Text

Diese ausserordentlich attraktive Sorte wurde an einem regnerischen Sonntagnachmittag im Jahre 2007 vom Belgier Robin Callens im Garten seiner Eltern in Waregem gefunden. Der Finder war damals lediglich 15 Jahr alt. Die Sorte wurde erstmals am 1. März 2009 der Öffentlichkeit gezeigt. Dies erfolgte über das Internetforum des "Scottish Rock Garden Club". Das Echo war gross und entsprechend gross war auch die Nachfrage nach diesem Ausnahme-Glöckchen.
In der Folge wurden einige Pflanzen verkauft. Zur Zeit der Markteinführung wurden 500 Euro pro Zwiebel verlangt. Durch diese Veräusserung wurde Geld gesammelt, um dem jungen Robin einen Studienplatz in Neuseeland am Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology finanzieren zu können.
Gefunden wurde Galanthus 'Green Mile' als einzelne Pflanze, die nach zwei Jahren in Kultur bereits die stattliche Zahl von 9 Blüten erreichte. In der näheren Umgebung des Fundortes waren noch einige grünspitzige Galanthus nivalis zu finden. Jedoch fand Callens auch nach Jahren keine virescente Pflanze mehr am originalen Fundort von Galanthus 'Green Mile'.
Trotz diesem ausserordentlichen Fund wurde Callens nie galanthophil: "Galanthus sind etwas überbewertet denke ich" - er widmet sich lieber Pflanzen der Gattungen Podophyllum, Paris, Trillium, Arisaema, Polygonatum, Disporum und anderen Raritäten.

Galanthus 'Green Mile'