free bootstrap templates

'Green Tear'

Galanthus hybr. 'Green Tear'

Galanthus 'Green Tear' is an incredibly precious snowdrop that belongs to the virescent group; the green snowdrops. The cultivar name "Green Tear" describes the variety extremely aptly when it is in bud.
The outer petals are broad and shapely, which is not the case with many other varieties of this group (compare with the green scharlockii-types).
The green of this variety is especially dark and has characteristic lines, which makes it clearly distinguishable from another attractive variety with the cultivar name 'Green Mile' from Belgium. To the petal edges, the green color fades into a white. The inner petals are entirely green,  except a bright spot towards the ovary.
Galanthus 'Green Tear' is both vigorous and robust. It received a P.C. Award in 2009 from the Royal Horticultural Society (RHS). This P.C. award (abbreviation for: Preliminary Commendation) is normally given to those plants that have a special exhibition value and have either been shown for the first time or are still very rare in cultivation.
Galanthus 'Green Tear' was originally found by Gert-Jan Van der Kolk near Zutphen in the Netherlands in 2000 in a wild nivalis-population.
Although it was a uniform population at the time, many experts (including John Grimshaw) do not exclude the possibility that it is a hybrid. A hybridization with Galanthus plicatus would be conceivable due to the folded leaf margins.

Galanthus 'Green Tear'

bootstrap themes

'Green Tear'

Galanthus Hybride 'Green Tear' - English Text

Galanthus 'Green Tear' ist ein unglaublich kostbares Schneeglöckchen, das zur Gruppe der "Virescenten", also der grünen Schneeglöckchen gehört. "Green Tear" bedeutet auf Deutsch so viel wie "Grüne Träne", was die Sorte vor allem im knospigen Zustand äusserst treffend beschreibt.
Die äusseren Blütenblätter sind breit und formschön, was bei vielen anderen Sorten dieser Gruppe nicht der Fall ist (man vergleiche mit den virescenten Scharlockii-Typen).
Das Grün dieser Sorte weist eine deutliche Bänderung auf, was sie klar von der ebenfalls sehr attraktiven Sorte 'Green Mile' aus Belgien unterscheidbar macht. Zu den Blütenblatt-Rändern hin geht die Grünfärbung in ein Weiss über. Die inneren Blütenblätter sind gänzlich grün gehalten, mit Ausnahme eines hellen Bandes zum Fruchtknoten hin.
Galanthus 'Green Tear' ist sowohl wüchsig, als auch robust, was sie zu einer absoluten Spitzen-Sorte macht. Sie erhielt einen P.C.-Award im Jahre 2009 von der Royal Horticultural Society (RHS). Diese Auszeichnung (ausgeschrieben: Preliminary Commendation) wird an jene Pflanzen vergeben, die einen Ausstellungswert besitzen und entweder das erste Mal gezeigt wurden oder noch sehr wenig verbreitet sind. 
Galanthus 'Green Tear' wurde ursprünglich von Gert-Jan Van der Kolk in der Nähe von Zutphen in den Niederlanden im Jahre 2000 in einer verwilderten Nivalis-Population gefunden.
Obwohl es sich damals um eine uniforme Population handelte, schliessen viele Experten (darunter John Grimshaw) die Möglichkeit nicht aus, dass es sich hierbei um eine Hybride handelt. Denkbar wäre eine Hybridisierung mit Galanthus plicatus aufgrund der zurückgefalteten Blattränder.

Galanthus 'Green Tear'