free html5 templates

'Miss Willmott'

Galanthus hybr. 'Miss Willmott'

Galanthus 'Miss Willmott' is currently the variety with the highest flower count per bulb, often producing four inflorescences for a mature bulb, in some cases even five. The flowers themselves are large and perfectly formed, with an attractive structure. The bright green color of the ovary and the apical mark is somewhat reminiscent of Galanthus gracilis, but the leaves show clearly that Galanthus plicatus is involved in this hybrid.
Galanthus 'Miss Willmott' occurred at Warley Place in Essex, England around 1998 and was given to Wol and Sue Staines of Glen Chantry Snowdrops to propagate and distribute. The nursery with a growing area of approximately 2000 square meters is located in Wickham Bishops, a village in the county of Essex in England and is known for very good Galanthus selections.
The woman behind the name "Miss Willmott" is "Ellen Ann Willmott". She lived from 1858 to 1934 and resided in Brentwood, Essex. As a gardener and eminent member of the Royal Horticultural Society, she was a respected personality. It is said that she grew over 100,000 plant species in her garden. Some of them have survived to this day and her former residence "Warley Place" is now a nature reserve, known for its daffodils, crocuses and snowdrops.

galanthus miss willmott

free website builder

'Miss Willmott'

Galanthus Hybride 'Miss Willmott' - English Text

Galanthus 'Miss Willmott' ist im Moment die Sorte mit den meisten Blüten pro Zwiebel, die nicht selten zu viert aus den zwei Laubblättern entspringen, in einigen Fällen stehen sie gar zu fünft über dem Laub. Die Blüten selbst sind ausgesprochen gross und formvollendet, mit einer attraktiven Struktur. Die hellgrüne Färbung des Fruchtknotens und der Zeichnung erinnert etwas an Galanthus gracilis. Doch das Laub lässt keinen Zweifel daran, dass hier Galanthus plicatus ein entscheidender Akteur in der Entstehung dieser Hybride war.
Galanthus 'Miss Willmott' wurde etwa um 1998 in Warley Place, Essex, England entdeckt und an Wol und Sue Staines von Glen Chantry Snowdrops abgegeben, um die Sorte zu vermehren und in den Umlauf zu bringen. Die Gärtnerei mit ungefähr 2000 Quadratmetern Fläche befindet sich in Wickham Bishops, einem Dorf in der Grafschaft Essex in England und ist bekannt für ausgesprochen gute Galanthus-Selektionen.
Die Frau, die hinter dem Namen "Miss Willmott" steht, heisst mit vollem Namen "Ellen Ann Willmott". Sie lebte von 1858 bis 1934 und wohnte in Brentwood, Essex. Als Gärtnerin und bedeutendes Mitglied der Royal Horticultural Society war sie eine angesehene Persönlichkeit. Man sagt von ihr, dass sie über 100'000 Pflanzenarten in ihrem Garten anpflanzte. Bis heute haben einige davon überlebt und ihr ehemaliger Wohnort "Warley Place" ist heute ein Naturreservat, bekannt für seine Narzissen, Krokusse und Schneeglöckchen.

galanthus miss willmott