create a web page for free

'Primrose Warburg'

Galanthus Hybride 'Primrose Warburg'

A medium-sized snowdrop with yellow ovary and yellow spots on the inner petals. Presumably, it is a hybrid between G. nivalis and G. plicatus. It was found in the 80s in the garden of the famous snowdrop collector Primrose Warburg in South Hayes, west of London. Nothing is known about the earlier origin of the variety. Still, it is considered one of the most beautiful yellow snowdrops.
The variety is very similar to the attractive Galanthus 'Spindlestone Surprise', but in a direct comparison one can distinguish them quite easily. 'Spindlestone Surprise' is a bit more vigorous and robust,  'Primrose Warburg' on the other hand is somewhat larger.
As with many yellow varieties, the yellow color of the flower parts can be less pronounced in some years. This is more common among freshly planted bulbs, but the effect usually disappears in the following year.

galanthus primrose warburg

free site creation software

'Primrose Warburg'

Galanthus Hybride 'Primrose Warburg' - English Text

Ein mittelgrosses Schneeglöckchen mit gelbem Fruchtknoten und gelber Markierung auf den inneren Blütenblättern. Vermutlich ist es eine Hybride zwischen G. nivalis und G. plicatus. Es wurde in den 80er Jahren im Garten der berühmten Schneeglöckchensammlerin Primrose Warburg in South Hayes, im Westen Londons, gefunden. Über die frühere Herkunft der Sorte ist nichts bekannt. Noch immer gilt es als eines der schönsten gelben Schneeglöckchen.
Die Sorte ist dem attraktiven Galanthus ‘Spindlestone Surprise’ sehr ähnlich, doch im direkten Vergleich kann man sie gut unterscheiden. Zudem ist ‘Spindlestone Surprise’ etwas wüchsiger und robuster, was ‘Primrose Warburg’ mit seiner Grösse jedoch wieder wettmacht.
Wie bei vielen gelben Sorten kann es vorkommen, dass die gelbe Färbung der Blütenteile in manchen Jahren weniger stark ausgeprägt sind und sich der originalen, grünen Färbung annähern. Dies ist häufiger bei Neupflanzungen zu beobachten, der Effekt verschwindet jedoch meist schon im Folgejahr.

galanthus primrose warburg