amp template

'Rodmarton Arcturus'

Galanthus hybr. 'Rodmarton Arcturus'

Galanthus 'Rodmarton Arcturus' has exceptionally well-proportioned, full flowers. Due to their width, the roundish petals barely allow a view of the inner markings, which actually are pretty attractive with dark green lines and a yellowish gradient between.
The variety was found by Simon Biddulph in the garden of Rodmarton Manor, an estate that was built in the early 20th century for the Biddulph family. The property is located in Gloucestershire, a county in southwest England.
Galanthus 'Rodmarton Arcturus' has pleated leaves, which is a clear indication that this is a Galanthus plicatus hybrid.
An especially nice specimen was exhibited by Ronald Mackenzie at the RHS Show in Westminster, England, in 2011 and received a P.C. Award from the Royal Horticultural Society. This P.C. award (abbreviation for: Preliminary Commendation) is normally given to those plants that have a special exhibition value and have either been shown for the first time or are still very rare in cultivation.

Galanthus 'Rodmarton Arcturus'

create your own site

'Rodmarton Arcturus'

Galanthus Hybride 'Rodmarton Arcturus' - English Text

Galanthus 'Rodmarton Arcturus' besitzt ausserordentlich wohlproportionierte, volle Blüten. Die rundlichen Petalen lassen aufgrund ihrer Breite kaum einen Blick auf die innere Markierung zu, die sich eigentlich mit ihrem attraktiven Verlauf und der Zeichnung nicht zu verstecken bräuchte.
Gefunden wurde die Sorte durch Simon Biddulph im Garten von Rodmarton Manor, einem Anwesen, das im frühen 20. Jahrhundert für die Biddulph-Familie erbaut wurde. Das Grundstück befindet sich in Gloucestershire, einer Grafschaft im Südwesten Englands.
Galanthus 'Rodmarton Arcturus' besitzt gefaltete Laubblätter, was ein klares Indiz dafür ist, dass es sich hierbei um eine Galanthus plicatus-Hybride handelt. 
Die Sorte wurde im Jahre 2011 durch Ronald Mackenzie an der RHS-Show in Westminster, England ausgestellt und erhielt einen P.C.-Award von der Royal Horticultural Society. Diese Auszeichnung (ausgeschrieben: Preliminary Commendation) wird an jene Pflanzen vergeben, die einen besonderen Ausstellungswert besitzen und entweder das erste Mal gezeigt wurden oder noch sehr wenig verbreitet sind.

Galanthus 'Rodmarton Arcturus'