online website builder

'York Minster'

Galanthus elwesii var. monostictus 'York Minster'

Galanthus 'York Minster' is a member of the Hiemalis group, whose members are the Galanthus elwesii that only have a single mark on the inner petals and begin to bloom in late autumn and winter. The special thing about this variety is the exceptionally good green coloring of the outer petals, paired with completely dark green inner petals. Snowdrop experts talk of virescent snowdrops when this color combination occurs.
Galanthus 'York Minster' often blooms as one of the first virescent snowdrops, which may already be as soon as November in some years. However, this depends on various factors such as soil moisture and air temperature, which means that the flowering period can also be slightly delayed into the New Year.
The variety was named by Jörg Lebsa, a well-known galanthophile from Dresden in Germany. He has been travelling around alot to see snowdrops in Austria, France, the Czech Republic, Turkey, Greece and Italy and has named many outstanding snowdrops. He is also known as the author of snowdrop articles.

Galanthus 'York Minster'

free css templates

'York Minster'

Galanthus elwesii var. monostictus 'York Minster' - English Text

Galanthus 'York Minster' ist ein Vertreter aus der Hiemalis-Gruppe, also denjenigen Galanthus elwesii, die lediglich eine Markierung auf den inneren Blütenblättern besitzen und bereits im Spätherbst und Winter zu blühen beginnen. Das Spezielle an dieser Sorte ist die ausgesprochen gute Grünfärbung der Aussenpetalen, gepaart mit komplett grün gezeichneten inneren Blütenblättern. Im Fachjargon spricht man von virescenten Schneeglöckchen.
Galanthus 'York Minster' blüht oft als eines der ersten virescenten Schneeglöckchen, was in gewissen Jahren schon im November der Fall sein kann. Dies ist jedoch abhängig von verschiedenen Faktoren, wie Bodenfeuchte und Lufttemperatur, wodurch sich die Blütezeit auch ins neue Jahr verschieben kann.
Benannt wurde die Sorte durch Jörg Lebsa, einem bekannten Galanthophilen aus Dresden in Deutschland. Er bereiste Wildstandorte in Österreich, Frankreich, Tschechien, Türkei, Griechenland und Italien und ist Namensgeber für viele Schneeglöckchen-Sorten. Des Weiteren ist er als Verfasser von Schneeglöckchen-Artikeln bekannt.

Galanthus 'York Minster'